My name is my condition!

[In...]

Hello everyone!

I'm a seasoned benzo veteran with two tapers under my belt, but I cannot resolve my sleep maintenance insomnia, which is starting to cause adverse health effects (high C-reactive protein levels and heart issues).

I successfully tapered off 1 mg clonazepam back in early 2013 (taper 1), but I had to reinstate in 2014 after two beers precipitated a panic attack at work the next day, for which I took a piece of my left over clonazepam. That reactivated the benzo withdrawal syndrome in me (I had the same symptoms as before taper 1), so after talking with some benzo-wise friends, I reinstated and tapered (taper 2), which ended in 2016. However, unlike taper 1, the sleep issues were not resolved after taper 2. And since my health is being dangerously affected, I wanted to join the BB community

So now I'm in a double-bind: I have to try to safely resolve my sleep maintenance insomnia without touching or affecting my GABA A receptors or the benzo sites on these receptors, but I don't know how to do that or if it is even possible...

Thanks for reading!

[9e...]

Hello Intractable Insomnia, welcome to BenzoBuddies,

I'm glad you are connecting here for support!  Insomnia is one of those problems that is nearly universal to withdrawl.  I have had this problem myself so I am always sorry for those going through it.  Of course, most of us had to learn the hard way that benzos and Z-drugs don't work in the long run.  Have you had a sleep study done?  We have an Insomnia support board and you can access it here:

Insomnia

I found this thread particularly helpful during my taper and even beyond:

http://www.benzobuddies.org/forum/index.php?topic=235100.0

Reach out when you are ready.  Let us know how we can help.

Best and again, welcome,

Kate

Thanks Kate08!

And thanks Shayna 78.  Does CBTI resolve sleep maintenance insomnia that has a physical cause (i.e., weakened/downregulated GABA A receptors)?

Hello,