Question about side effects

I have been tapering down from 3 mg of ativan per day for the past 3 months. My last cut was this week down to 1.30 mg per day. I had been battling depression which I felt was caused by the med. Anyway, with a good diet, supplements, and exercising everyday the depression lifted for the past 2 or 3 weeks. I was so happy because it had been kind of rough. This morning it was back. I was shocked and upset. Do you think it has anything to do with the latest cut in my med? The only thing I have done differently is add tart cherry juice in the morning and again an hour before bed to aid with sleep. Any thoughts? TIA.

Benzo withdrawal does cause depression.  Also, tart cherry juice is known to be relaxing because of a natural melatonin substance in it.  Some people get very depressed on melatonin, so I suppose there could be a link. 

[a6...]
It's possible, but from all I've read, there are many, many cases where symptoms come and go throughout the w/d process.  I don't think I would overreact to a one day relapse in your case.

Thank you both for replying. I did cut back on the cherry concentrate. I haven't been quite as depressed. Didn't sleep quite as well though. I've not slept well in 6 months. The w/d effects have been so odd. It seems to effect my face and jaws more. A little shaking still in the morning but when it's time for my next dose it's almost like an uncontrollable grimace on my face and my jaws are clenching and then the headache. My mind starts to feel "stressed" or cloudy. I hate this and although I'm determined I never dreamed it would be like this to get off of this med. I'm so impressed and in awe of people who kick this med. I never abused this drug. Not once.