Important Survey - Please Participate ×

Benzo withdrawal and NMDA agonists

[sp...]

We have a thread in this forum about Ketamine locked, but Colin noted the following:

This thread might have been allowed if you were more careful in your phrasing, and if you had posted it to a more appropriate board for this discussion.

I'm going to attempt to be more careful in my phrasing, as I have some experience in this regard. My basic conclusion was that this didn't work for me, nor would I recommend it to anyone, but the science behind it is interesting.

Ketamine is a schedule-III drug in the US, which means it's got established medical uses but also has abuse potential. For reference, the "big gun" narcotics (morphine, oxycontin) are Schedule-II (strongest legal drugs); the middle shelf narcotic preparations (vicodin, percoset) are also Schedule-III, and benzos are schedule-IV. There is one additional schedule, S-V, which contains things with much more limited abuse potential (tylenol + codeine, for example).

Ketamine has primarily been used as a veterinary anesthetic in the US, but it's also used as an anesthetic for small children because its safety profile makes it less dangerous than the typical midazolam + fentanyl 'twilight' medication for people with lower body weight. However, over the past several years, there has been interest in Ketamine specifically and NMDA agonists in general as antidepressants, and there are several studies which demonstrate their efficiency:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22339643