Recent Anxiety Attacks - 5 Weeks Off Lorazepam - Support Needed

[...]

I'm a newbie (just posted my intro a few days ago) and just had a very strong anxiety attack that lasted about 30 minutes or so.  Extreme nervous/anxious feeling in my upper torso and slight burning sensation in my chest and arms, along with some muscle tension in my face and arms.  What made it even more frightening was the derealization feeling that went along with it for the first 5-6 minutes of the attack.  I had something similar to this occur a few days ago that was nowhere near as intense, and I even thought it might be a low blood sugar issue, as I had eaten sparingly that day.  I'm guessing that these attacks are part of withdrawal but just surprised that they have surfaced at the 5-week off mark.  I've had some anxiety and depression during my taper and post-taper but nothing like this today.  Thanks in advance for your help!

Rico

You may suffer anxiety even this far out, it's pretty common. It may take some time for the anxiety to decrease, but it does. Benzo anxiety is the worst! I had it in the AM consistently for a long time but now my mornings are very calm when I wake up. For now maybe try some extra exercises and deep breathing to get past it and you'll be ok.

:mybuddy:

Thanks Star - I actually worked out earlier today and was just preparing some lunch when it hit.  I've never experienced an anxiety attack that intense before, and it is concerning, especially if it were to occur while I am at work, or somewhere away from home (I travel quite a bit in my job).

Hi Rico,

have you heard of the linden method. Great tips on how to manage anxiety.

Look it up, as it helped me manage those sudden feelings of terror.

• 2 weeks later...