Author Topic: Withdrawal from Xanax Cold Turkey ?'s  (Read 2473 times)

[Buddie]

Withdrawal from Xanax Cold Turkey ?'s
« on: February 17, 2011, 06:06:27 pm »
Hi Everybody,

I recently quit xanax cold turkey one month ago.  I have been using xanax off and on for about 6-7 years and within the last month I had a major seizure.  I initially started using xanax to cope with a high stress sales job but since then the xanax really just messed up my life personally and professionally.  I was getting it prescribed but then I developed a tolerance and started abusing it and was afraid to tell my doctor so I started getting some from friends as well. 

Symptoms I have been feeling include:
Suicidal thoughts
Extreme anxiety & panic
fatigue
ADD
Mental fog
(I do seem to have some windows here and there when I think I am about to pull out of it but I haven't yet:(

I found this site and it has been really helpful to know that I am not going crazy and other people are dealing with the same thing.  I know cold turkey is not the best way to go but I feel like I have gotten through the roughest patch already and would like to know any suggestions that anybody has.  I really appreciate it:)
Suggestions, opinions and/or advice provided by the author of this post should not be regarded as medical advice; nor should it substitute for professional medical care. Consult your doctor before making any changes to your medication. Please read our Community Policy Documents board for further information.

[Buddie]

Re: Withdrawal from Xanax Cold Turkey ?'s
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2011, 06:16:51 pm »
Hi and welcome to BenzoBuddies [...]!
I'm very glad you found us.

Yeah, cold turkey is very rough.  The symptoms you list are common, and as you mentioned many members here can relate.
You are definitely not alone.

Did you seek medical attention after your seizure?
Please ask any questions and let us know how we can help.