Should I stop the therapy?

[mo...]

Background, I'm a 26-year-old student living alone most of the days, studying IT. I'm battling depression and anxiety since 2015 (so around 7 years) after the years of being bullied at the high school. In 2020 I've also lost a father which increased both my depression and sadness...

Now, I'd like to explain the title of the post and why I'm considering stopping the medication. In January of 2021 (a month after I lost my dad). I decided to visit a therapist and psychiatrist for the first time in my life, it become clear to me I could not suffer anymore since I could not stand the suicidal thoughts, and years of depression came to a peak. In 2021 I've tried different SSRIs and SNRIs but none of them seemed to work even to the highest dose allowed.

While I was trying various combinations with my psychiatrist, I was prescribed and started using Clonazepam for anxiety and Trazodone for sleeping, until the end of the year we could not find any antidepressant that will work for me. In the December of 2021, the doctor suggested Wellbutrin, which finally gave some results, though It's been only 6 months I think it improved my depression a little bit (better than nothing).

Now, the point of this post is my health since February of 2022. I've started to be tired all day, I can't focus on studying. I just want to lay in bed and sleep and after I woke up I still feel tired. Due to that, I've started drinking a lot of caffeine which did not help at all.

Since I can't cope with this tiredness all day (stopped going to classes, and can't read a single page of the book), even though depression and anxiety are still there I've decided I probably should stop the therapy for now.

I visited my psychiatrist 2 days ago and told her I want to stop the medication, but unfortunately, she refused to accept that as a solution and increased my Wellbutrin. After the visit, I was lost and I don't know what should I do now.