Author Topic: Schedule for first time tapering  (Read 392 times)

[Buddie]

Schedule for first time tapering
« on: April 25, 2022, 02:46:39 am »
Hi all,

I desperately want to get off of klonopin, but want to make sure I pace myself appropriately. After just under 3 years of being on 1mg every night, I lowered my nightly dose to 0.875mg per night last weekend. This week I didnít have any withdrawal symptoms, so I dropped to 0.75 last night and this morning was the first day I woke up with restless legs and high levels of anxiety. Is dropping .125mg every week too fast of a pace? Would a .125mg drop every two weeks be more appropriate? I read the Ashton manual and have tried to better educate myself today, but I donít know much about the WD process given this is my first time trying and this is my first time posting on these boards. I understand that everyone is different, but Iím just trying to get a good idea of what would be a good pace moving forward.
Suggestions, opinions and/or advice provided by the author of this post should not be regarded as medical advice; nor should it substitute for professional medical care. Consult your doctor before making any changes to your medication. Please read our Community Policy Documents board for further information.

[Buddie]

10% reduction every two weeks timeline
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2022, 01:32:00 am »
As I begin a more conservative taper, I am thinking I will likely stick to the 10% reduction every two weeks that is recommended in the Ashton. My question is this: I have been on 1mg for just under 3 years. A 10% reduction every two weeks will take years. How does the 10% reduction work after the first few months? Just some table napkin math shows that after a few months you would be making less than a 0.05mg reduction in a full month if you stick with 10% cut each time.