Author Topic: Long term clonazepam user  (Read 1071 times)

[Buddie]

Long term clonazepam user
« on: April 03, 2022, 11:25:52 pm »
Hi, everyone;

I have been using clonazepam for nearly 31 years.   I unsuccessfully tried to taper off three years ago (having severe withdrawal--shaking, psychosis, paranoia) ultimately causing me to go back on my current dosage.  My current dosage is .5 mg three times daily.  When I did try to taper over three years ago,  I did it very slowly, but I cut out the middle dose, which left my body reacting so strongly that I had to go back on my current dosage. 

I am hoping that I can in the long term get off clonazepam completely, and not feel blunted, and get my life back. 
Suggestions, opinions and/or advice provided by the author of this post should not be regarded as medical advice; nor should it substitute for professional medical care. Consult your doctor before making any changes to your medication. Please read our Community Policy Documents board for further information.

[Buddie]

Re: Long term clonazepam user
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2022, 11:32:29 pm »
Hello [...],

Welcome to BenzoBuddies, we are glad to have you in the community!  I'm sorry you had such a hard time last time you tried to taper off benzos.  Will you be tapering on your own or with the guidance of your doctor? We suggest tapering slowly to minimize withdrawl symptoms, taper safely, and to allow you to stay functional.  We follow the Ashton suggestion of tapering no more than 5-10% of your total dose every two weeks or so.  I've put a link to The Ashton Manual below so you can look at it.  Developing a good (but flexible) taper plan up front will increase your odds of success.

Look around the website to see what is here, ask questions, and let us know when you need help.

Again, welcome,

[...]

The Ashton Manual

Planning Your Withdrawal (Taper)

Withdrawal Support (during your taper)