I don’t know what’s happened to my life

[Sl...]

Hi everyone, sorry to get started on a sad note. I’m writing this in tears.

I’m an Australian living in Berlin. 2021 was the hardest/worst year of my life… and it seems like 2022 isn’t going to be easy either. 😭

I worked like crazy throughout the pandemic, but lost my job early last year. I was pretty depressed about that but tried to pick myself up and was working on some creative projects and getting excited - I’m a designer.

Life was going fine, until the second dose of the Moderna vaccine. In July, Two weeks later, I woke up in the middle of the night with waves of heat hitting me. It kinda felt like a panic attack, but different, and it just wouldn’t end for hours. My husband had to take me to the hospital where they gave me 2 1mg lorazepam pills and some anti-nausea meds.

Every 10 days or so after that, I’d wake up with mini shaking episodes. It was a bit weird, but I didn’t dwell on it too much, and life went on.

The beginning of the end began in late August. August 23rd 2021 was the last normal day of my life, I slept for 11 hours that day. 😭

I took antibiotics for an infection the next day, and my life imploded. I didn’t know it at the time, but Clarithromycin can act as a GABA-a antagonist. It just threw my body over the edge. Everytime I tried to sleep, I’d wake up within an hour shaking uncontrollably. Over the next two weeks, I barely ate or slept and my anxiety was unlike nothing I’ve ever experienced before. I was terrified.