Lorazapam withdrawal transition to valium

[Li...]

Please help! I have been weaning off of Ativan for almost three years. Dry cutting down to .25mg. Tried twice, almost made it,, then after a few nights of succesive no sleep I was back to .25mg. Mostly no or little sleep. Found a psychiatrist, showed him the method of switching to valium. He suddenly put me on 5 mg. of valium after I showed him the Ashton equivelency chart. Two weeks on five and now on 4mg of valium. No sleep at all. Getting so nervous as night approached he prescribed escsitolopram for anxiety and depression. Can you tell me where I can print out how the transition should work as I"m now in a terrible state of continual no sleep at eighty five years old. Can you tell me so I can show him how to transition gradually as it said in the description of the method "we will help you with that"  Please help as soon as possible. Thank you anyone out there .

Hi Litefoot, I'm sorry that you are suffering, I completely understand.

It would be helpful if you post exactly your dosing schedule and how you switched over. It appears that you did it all at once. It also looks like you went to a higher Valium dose than the Ashton conversion which is 10:1 Valium to Ativan which would be 2.5 mg.  My doc wanted me to do this since he said i was on a "low dose" and wanted to put me on a higher dose of Valium than the conversion, but i finally convinced him to let me gradually do it and use the  Ashton conversion dose.

You may have to go back and add a portion of Ativan since it takes longer for Valium to settle in your system so you are probably experiencing withdrawal from the Ativan. i will defer to some of the more experienced buddies on this aspect and what recommendations on how to approach it