Tapering of Alprazolam - Good or bad tapering plan?

[Sh...]

Hi

I've been using Alprazolam (Xanax) for about 15 years now and are currently on 2 mg/day on average - sometimes I use more but I never, or maybe on rare occasions, exceed 3mg. But on average I would say 2mg is just enough for me for the day if there are no other external factors involved (I suffer from social phobia so stuff like meetings or speaking in public usually make me take more).

I've decided to stop and started reducing by 25% to 1.5mg and I'm on my 3rd day now.  I'm not sure but I think I'm already suffering wd in terms of more feelings of anxiety and depression.

I understand going off too fast can be bad but I also read about long term users that came off rapidly or even did it CT. Should I continue this path of say, a quarter every 2 weeks (was planning on every week but I do not think that's viable) or should I do it slower?

My finances are in shambles and I do not have the luxury of seeing my Dr often or buying expensive cutting and or measuring equipment so I must do this by myself.

Please let me know your thoughts, those who agree and those who don't. I will really appreciate all feedback.

This stuff messed up my life and I need to get off as soon as possible, I am impatient by nature as you probably can gather by now  :)

I look forward to all replies and suggestions.