Recovered - Have Hope!!

[ki...]

Hello everyone,

Wanted to write my success story because it was helpful for me to read them when I was going through the Benzo Hell. Like everyone I thought that it would never end, but after reading and learning everything I could it gave me hope knowing that even extreme cases eventually recover. It is a nightmare to go through this and people will not understand your experience.

I have been using Clonazepam for a few years since 2013, sometimes with alcohol and also cocaine but never consistently. In 2015 I started taking it consistently and increasing my doses gradually for about 9 months moving up to heavier doses (1-3 grams) I was also using it with lots of alcohol at times and sometimes with cocaine. At 9 months I just cold turkey'd without realizing the dangers of it. It was the most painful experience of my life. The first month was the worst, but it continued for years. I had most of the symptoms, lots of suicidal ideation, it was very hard to talk to people anymore or look them in the eye, extreme anxiety and panic, I had to reinstate several times and was on/off for the next 3 years. Gradually I got better. After beginning of 2019 I've taken doses only on very rare occasion. I no longer depend on it and feel like myself again completely. I only have some benign neuro discomfort on my right side of the temple and cheekbone, I think it's from clenching my jaw so much during the withdrawal period. I still have some tinnitus, but actually haven't even thought about it until I started writing this and had to check if I still had it, you forget about it after a while. The tinnitus was loud during withdrawal.

In a weird way I feel grateful to have gone through this experience, I think this is a very humbling experience and makes you more compassionate having gone through it. And I feel more appreciate of my health now remembering what that felt like. This was my experience with it.