Interdose withdrawal with Xanax

[lo...]

So I've been holding at 5mg a day for about 4 years. Recently I noticed about the hour before my dose I start getting shakey, dry mouth, dizzy, upset stomach and derealazation badly. I take 1mg 5xs a day every 4 hours. I'm not sure if I'm just over thinking it and doing this to myself. I had planned on starting a taper again, but things have been less than good.

I see my therapist tonight and am considering up doesing. I don't want to, but I don't know if I'm strong enough to do this.

That definitely sounds like interdose withdrawal. I sometimes play around with the times I take it if that starts happening. I dose 4 times a day. Xanax is short acting as you probably know and those sx are common.

I am holding at .5 and sometimes when I get those symptoms I'll take the dose an hour early. I try not to updose if I can help it. Strangely enough, tapering helped these symptoms. I was on 2.5 for years. I tapered down in 2020. My interdose withdrawal is much better now on this lower dose.

I also noticed that my interdose withdrawal got better when I started tapering. I was having paradoxical symptoms and bad interdose WD. That's why I started tapering in the first place. You didn't mention that taking the med can cause problems so you're probably not 'that bad' yet. I understand if you updose but you will probably acclimate to that dose as well. Eventually, you may have to get off Xanax to get rid of all the problems associated with it. No matter what you decide, I wish you the best.

What you describe sounds like you have hit the ceiling and have tolerance WD.

HM

I have tapered before I was on 10 mgs daily, as you can see on my bio my taper log. I had to stop and hold due to being violently sexual assaulted. Since the hold I was doing well the last year has been extremely stressful, I moved back into my childhood home and got into a relationship with a narcissist.