Hello

[En...]

Hello I’m 33 and I’ve been using Xanax for the last 6 months. Only 0.25 at night, only sometimes I used 0.5. I tried to to cold turkey last week but I felt very very bad I tried to push it though for 7 days but then I called my doctor and she told me to taper it off. So now I’m taking half pill of the 0.25, things are better but not great, I feel very tired, dizzy, confused and like with no equilibrium. I was on a moto with a friend and we had to stop because I felt so nauseous, how can I taper it off properly? How long will it take to feel good again? Thanks

[72...]

Hello EnzoIt,

Welcome to BenzoBuddies, I'm glad you are here!  We at BB support a slow taper from benzos to minimize withdrawl symptoms, reducing your daily dose no more than 5-10% every two weeks or so.  It would be helpful if you find the dose where you last felt stable and stay there for a bit before tapering.  You will find taper plans and support on this board:

Planning Your Withdrawal (Taper Plans)

For support as you taper, you can reach out here:

Withdrawal Support (during your taper)

Look around and get settled in and when you are ready, you can begin a thread.  We are to help you so please let us know your needs.

Again, welcome,

Kate

Thanks for your answer! Can I divide the pill and take it in like 3 different moments of the day or is it better to take it at the same time?

[72...]

You can divide your pill and take it multiple times a day but it may be too difficult to do this because the dose gets too low for pill-splitting.  Some members switch to a liquid taper when the dose gets too small; this is what I did.  You might want to check out the Taper Support board for more info about tapering:

Planning Your Withdrawal (Taper Plans)