Knee replacement surgery

[ni...]

Good day, I am scheduled for a total knee replacement on April 2. I actually need two knees, but the ortho doctor will only do one at a time.

Not sure why they both fell apart, as I have always been a walker and exercised. I did gain some weight during the benzo taper and during my recovery, but not enough to ruin my knees. I was always a skinny kid and weighed 115 pounds when  I graduated from high school at 5'8" tall. After having two kids, I weighed in at 130, so my skeleton was used to a lean weight. I have recently dropped close to 20 pounds, so that's a plus.

My sleep is still typically 2-3 hours a night. The orthopedic doctor put me on tramadol for pain and sleep. The sleep was good for the first night, then less the second night and went back to 2-3 hours the next two nights. It was doing little for my pain, so stopped after four days. Then my sleep stopped. Went back to 3 hours two nights ago, then returned last night with a good 6.5 hours!! Woo hoo!!

Anyway, my question is, I will be put on pain killers after my knee surgery and wonder if anyone has any thoughts about what pain medication would be more suitable for a benzo recovering brain?  I really don't want to take anything, but the doctor said the pain will be too great not to. 

I had de quervain's release surgery in January on my right wrist and was given oxycodone. It worked quite well. Then the doctor switched to tramadol, which did not work, so went back to oxycodone.

I see that the doctor has hydromorphone (Dilaudid) on the list, along with Hydrocodone/Acetaminophen. Any thoughts on those?

Thanks!

NG