Terrified.

[Wh...]

Hi,

I have a bit of a backstory but hopefully someone can shed some light or offer some assistance.

Part one: 15 years ago I abused benzos (valium, Xanax). My best friend died and I just turned to drugs, I didn't know what I was doing I just knew it made me forget and feel better. The habit and the dose became quite large 50-250mg valium on a given day, daily, for close to a year.

Had a seizure, weaned down, and suffered post withdrawal for 6 years. Ruined my degree, my relationship and my job...or...my life.

Recovered and went back to uni, got a new job, started my life back. Things were going well. However I do suffer huge anxiety. My doctor suggested we use valium PRN and keep a close watch on the dose. I've done this for two years now with no issues. Maybe 10mg per month, or less.

However I am a performing artist by night and I work in a corporate environment during the day. So this last month I've had a lot of commitments and I've had to use my benzos a bit more frequently than ideal. I decided, stupidly, to switch to Xanax thinking the short half life would mean less exposure to the drug and less change of any issues.

I accidentally ended up using 2mg xanax 5 days over 2 weeks.

I am now in severe acute withdrawal. No seizure but it feels the same as 10 years ago.

I went one week in wd, but then had another performance and had to have 5mg. I then had another week still in wd, and last night had another 5mg. I have one last commitment. But my life is going to hell. I can't speak properly, I can't sleep, i have gastro issues, my skin, I'm shaking inside, all the usual suspects...

Why is this happening...am I right back to where I was 10 years ago.

Help :(

Hello Whyisthishappening, welcome to BenzoBuddies,

My heart breaks for you, to be back here after what you endured so many years ago must be so scary and disheartening.  We have many members who fell back into benzo's after being free from them so you're among friends here.