Gonna start taper, welcome thoughts on what I'm thinking

[Mr...]

Hi everyone, my sincere wishes for all for full recovery! I'm getting the re-fill on 30 .05 Xanax pills this week. Been on these daily since June. I started taking one at night before bed to sleep. At first it was what I needed, now I want off. It's not working for the sleep as well and the whole day is horrible. I've never had anxiety before, now I do. Is this what is known as tolerance? I want to taper a quarter of the pill, or .125 for at least 10 days, then another quarter for a similar amount of time, and continue likewise until the last quarter, then half that until the bottle is through. Hoping that once at that small a dosage will be able to stop. Please, your thoughts on this plan. I'm open to suggestions as I've never done this before, scared but motivated to stop. Thank you!

First, we need to establish if you're currently taking .50 each day or .05, I'm assuming it's .50?

Also, it would be helpful for those helping you if you put your medication history in your signature, you can find the instructions here: Add your history/signature 

Many have reached benzo freedom by dry cutting their dose and you can too, also, most who are tapering Xanax will take their dose several times a day to avoid interdose withdrawal which is what I believe you're dealing with in the daytime.

Your anxiety is indeed being caused by the benzo, your body has become dependent so for this reason I would suggest a slow taper even though you've only been on it 4 months.

You can certainly begin your taper by cutting your pill into quarters but you may find it's too big of a cut to remain functional so you may need to consider slowing it down after that.  The good thing is you should know fairly soon after making your reduction if it's going to be too much since Xanax has such a short half life.