3rd day of completing c/o --getting slammed-- looking for support and advice

[Gr...]

This is my third day after completing the cross over from temazepam to diazepam. I thought I was doing ok and even feeling better . But then today happened. I couldn't motivate myself to get out of bed until after 1pm. I feel irritable, depressed, sedated, less than hopeful about this process. I am currently on 15 mg of V which I know is a lot. I don't know if decreasing the Valium would make me better (less depressed, more motivated) or worse ( more irritable). I hell stuck between a rock and a hard place as far as staying on this dose or decreasing. I was wondering if anybody has any advice or encouragement because this day has been really hard. I've not been working (normally I work as a therapist). Not working makes this worse because I feel no purpose or motivation to get out of bed in the morning. I don't have any kids to take care of. I am living with my parents because I can't work right now because of this. Any support or encouragement would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry you're a hard time with the CO.

I'm guessing that the problem is more temazepam WD than the diazepam although it can be sedating. It does go away after awhile.

Hey Grace, just my opinion, but from what you describe, I would say you probably needed to hold after the full crossover to give your brain and central nervous system an opportunity to stabilize somewhat.  Jwl was correct, you are probably feeling wd from your original benzo and now wd from the Diazapam.  15 mg of V really isn't a lot but V is very different from most benzo's.  It has 3 metabolites instead of one.  1. Is for muscle relaxant 2.  For sleep 3. For anxiety, so it is difficult for some people to cross.  It hasn't been long since you completely crossed, you could hold at 14, or go back to 15, and stay there until your symptoms have become more tolerable.