18 months off 2mg Klonopin per day for 3.5 years CT (DO NOT CT)

[co...]

Audio recording of the below for those who are unable to read:

Hi friends. I am 18 months off a CT of 2mg of K per day (DO NOT CT). I was prescribed it for 3.5 years. I was also prescribed 40mg of amphetamines for 1.5 years.* I quit this CT at the same time. I wanted to share my experience and hope for those going through what can feel like such an unnatural hell. I’d like to frame it using Maslow’s hierarchy of needs as I found myself in turmoil on every level of being.  My symptoms were severe, but if I had managed a slow and steady taper my withdrawal would’ve been more manageable.

Please note that I am not a doctor nor a scientist; everything I share is purely my own perspective and is not medical advice.

1. Physiological needs

1a. Diet

After some trial and error, I found that a strict keto diet helped me the most. I consumed high amounts of protein, minimal amounts of carbs, and avoided sugar, spice, and everything nice (i.e. all processed foods). Seriously, the blander the better. A typical meal for me consisted of a single chicken breast seasoned with pepper and a small serving of vegetables. I stayed away from comfort foods, prepackaged meals, restaurant meals, and hot sauces. My taste buds got last priority.

I also found that eating 6 small meals per day as opposed to 3 large ones helped to reduce my symptoms. Having an empty stomach or digesting a large meal seemed to give me more anxiety whereas having a small amount of food in my stomach seemed to provide some relief.

As for liquids, coffee thrust me into horrible states of panic and alcohol, while providing some relief in the moment, made my symptoms considerably worse the following day. I stuck with water. I can say that, at 18 months, I am able to consume both coffee and alcohol more or less normally, though I choose to avoid the latter as I continue to heal.