Halcion & Ambien

[in...]

Hi, everyone!

I have been battling insomnia for 2 months now. My doctor prescribed me Ambien and I only took 1/3 of a pill for 6 days and then a whole pill on the 7th day. Then, was switched to Halcion because that’s what had helped me in the past. Anyway, Halcion at 0.125 didn’t do much, so, I took it for 5 days and then tapered for another 5 days until I was done with it. I was clean for 2 weeks, but this last week was brutal to me with few hours of sleep at night and the terrible feeling of exhaustion, anxiety, burning skin, adrenaline rushes and hypnic jerks at night that would keep me awake! So, I took 0.125 mg of Halcion on one night and nothing on the following night (I only got 1 hour of sleep that night), then, I thought about doing a quick treatment and taper off. So, I took Halcion for another 2 nights and the 2nd night was awful again sleeping only 1 hour (Halcion knocked me out quickly but I somehokw woke up after an hour). Feeling like it wasn’t working, I went to urgent care and the doctor gave me Ambien. I’ve been taking it for 3 days now. So, in total, in a week I took 4 Halcions (one per night) and 3 Ambiens (1 per night). I want to stop taking Ambien. Can I go CT? Even if in a month I’ve taken it for 10+ days? My doctor said I could and that I wouldn’t have any WD symptoms, but she said that if I wanted to be super safe to take half of a 5 mg tonight (5 mg was the prescribed dose) and half tomorrow and then stop. Does this make sense to you guys? Not sure who has experience with Ambien in the short term... Thanks!!

P.S I hadn’t taken Halcion since July 2016. I was clean for 4 years.

I would think you'd be okay stopping it, you most likely won't sleep much but it sounds like you haven't been sleeping anyway.  I quit it cold turkey and didn't have a problem, but there are many who taper it.  If you're concerned, you could do as your Dr suggests to put your mind at ease.