Trazodone for Withdrawal Induced Insomnia

[Al...]

This is the third time I try to quit benzos. The first time I failed to remain sober because of my severe insomnia. For six months I slept no more than 2-4 hours per night and sometimes I couldn't sleep at all. I was so desperate that I was willing to use anything just to get some sleep, even to go back to benzos, which I eventually did. Same problem during my second attempt last summer. This year I found a non narcotic solution for my insomnia in an antidepressant called Trazodone. While it does not seem to help with my withdrawal symptoms, I manage to sleep well night after night. I'm not a doctor so I cannot recommend it for you, but if you have similar problems maybe you should ask your doctor about this drug.

Trazadone is an old ( 30 years and one of the first SSRI antidepressants) drug which is considered a "mild" drug compared to the newer antidepressants. It has a very strong side effect of drowsiness. It is far more often  prescribed as a help for sleep than for depression. I googled a contrast for Lexapro and Trazadone yesterday and I believe that Trazadone was listed as an anti-anxiety agent wheras Lexapro is definitely an antidepressant.

Hi, I used it for my withdrawal and helped me a lot. I had two or three sleepless nights when I stoped it but that was all.