Discovered I'm phobic about not sleeping!! ...

[a5...]

[a5...]

Hi BB,

Now that I'm down to only a bedtime dose of Klonopin, I discovered something about myself that is so obvious but I somehow missed it.  I'm phobic about not sleeping at night.  Duh!  I don't know why I only just saw this.  Oh, I know how ... I've been using Klonopin for more than 20 years and a large part of the reason was for sleep!!

Letting go of Klonopin in the daytime was challenging but not impossible but letting go of that bedtime dose ... another matter.  Not sure how I am going to use this new information but if anyone can relate, please share.

Best,

Kate  :smitten:

Hi!

Because my sleep was horrifically disrupted for a year, but then made worse by benzo tolerance, I was so afraid of bedtime after jumping still bc for me I was afraid of complete insomnia ..." how the heck will I function the next day?". Amazingly, the initial insomnia is what fixed my anxiety about sleep. Because after experiencing insomnia in WD, I realized I DID function the next day. Not great, but better than I thought I would. It taught me to say, "SO WHAT if I don't sleep?" The thing I feared happened - and I lived. And for me, sleep did eventually improve.

I'm not totally where I want to be in the sleep department BUT IT IS WAY BETTER! The best it has been in over a year!! So good that I barely even use melatonin anymore. I sleep without taking anything! Sometimes I wake, but I'm able to go back to sleep. some morning I have the early am cortisol surge - but that too has lessened. My dreams are vivid, but I used to get horrific nightmares (thanks Ativan...).

You got this!!

[a5...]

Hi!