Ativan to help sleep...no idea what was coming!

[Co...]

What’s up everyone!

Took Ativan 1mg every night and trazadone 50mg for 3 months to help me sleep – I was about to graduate college at the end of this semester and had trouble sleeping due to so much studying and stress. Doctor told me these would help, and that they were easy to get off of because of 1) low dose and 2) small time-period of usage. I also stopped going out and partying - I was determined to study and sleep well to get my degree.

Well, holy cow! I started experiencing insane symptoms of more insomnia, anxiety, and fatigue 2 weeks after starting this regimen. Doctors thought I was just having more anxiety issues, so they told me to take even more trazadone to sleep since it was “non-habit forming.”

Once I graduated, I knew I had to get off of these. With no help or guidance, I quit Ativan in 1 week after cutting the pill in half and then stopping. My life completely flipped upside down and I was a different person. Blaming it all on the trazadone that I was still taking, I struggled and went through hell trying to get off of that for the next 6 weeks, but somehow managed to do it. Little did I know it was the Ativan that most likely sent me on this downward spiral, since no doctor can offer me any explanation for my symptoms other than “adrenal fatigue.”

Now, 6 months free of these medications I am a shell of the guy I used to be. I now only sleep 4 hours a night, have constant fatigue, and feel brain dead every day. I can barely exercise or focus, and the stomach digestion problems of constipation, diarrhea, etc. never stop. When will this all end? I have had to have a colonoscopy, endoscopy, and an mri on my head to rule out all possible causes, including dozens of blood tests. But everything came back completely normal.