Doc appt on 1/27 - need some advice.

[Zu...]

Hey all.

I am going to see my doctor on the 27th to discuss tapering off xanax. I intend to make the case that I would prefer to be switched to a longer acting benzodiazepine such as valium or klonopin. I would like to bring a tapering schedule along with me to support this decision however I am unsure how to plan this out as I do not have access to either of those medications or their weights.

I'm doubting valium will be allowed, but if it is I have some concerns. I know valium can make you more sedated, and I am already on 50mg og trazodone since 4 weeks ago. Should I be concerned about taking trazodone along with valium?

I also am on blood pressure meds (lisinopril) 5mg daily. I am new to being on blood pressure meds, and I do not know if my blood pressure was high because of cigarettes, unhealthy diet, or interdose WD from the xanax. This concerns me.

As far as the tapering plan. I intended to go slow with it if allowed. Maybe starting at 5% cuts to see how that affects me. How would I figure this out for something like klonopin or valium before talking to the doctor?

Crossing over to something like klonopin or valium, how do I handle the initial few weeks? I take 1mg of xanax in the morning, and I do not know if I will suffer withdrawls before the crossover is finished. Is it safe to take the xanax while crossing over until I can stop the xanax entirely?

My boss is pushing me to go through with this as I can't seem to get tapering off my mind, or being on the xanax knowing what it does to me. I explained to them what can be expected while I am withdrawling.

I'll ask more questions as I come up with them, and thank you for the information.

I am tapering xanax, so if your doctor doesn't let you cross over, it will be OK.

5 mg lisinopril is a low dose. What is your blood pressure? It may also be not something to worry about.