Need help getting off 1 mg of daily Clonazepam (5 years).

[Mi...]

Hello, I’m new to Benzo Buddies. Need help getting off 1 mg of daily Clonazepam (5 years).

New doctor recommended I switch to Prozac 20mg daily. Is that enough?

How should I tapper the Clonazepam?

Thanks!!!

Hello Miraz30, Welcome to BenzoBuddies!

I'm glad you hear you ask how to taper, because too many try to just stop taking it like I did and that's not a good idea.  We suggest going very slowly, perhaps 5-10% of your dose every week or two, the key is to go slow to keep symptoms to a minimum.  Some people can stop taking this drug without problem but for those who do, they need support to understand what's happening to them, and that's why we're here.

Take a look at our  Planning Your Withdrawal (Taper Plans) board, there you can see the methods we support, and when you're ready, you can start a thread to ask our members for suggestions.

It will also help you to learn about benzo's and what they do to us, you can find some great information in  The Ashton Manual, it's important to be prepared for this process.

Prozac is an antidepressant and Clonazpam is a benzodiazepine, so while it can be helpful to have an A/D on board, one cannot take the place of the other.  You might want to do some research around the forum and elsewhere before you decide to take the Prozac.

Please let us know how we can help you.

Pamster

Thanks Pamster for reaching out!!!!!

I was currently trying to do cold turkey from 1mg daily of Clonazepam for 5 years. First week I tapered from 1mg to .250mg, so I was feeling good and I went Cold Turkey. What a mistake! After 120 hours (5 days) with no pills y crashed and took .250 and then went for another 40 hours without a pill and crashed again and took another .250mg. I know it's bad...

Today I haven't touched a pill. Yesterday was the day I took the .250mg.

What is your recommendation for a taper plan?