Quick Taper Question

[ge...]

Why do doctors often prescribe a different benzo to taper off a benzo?  Does it have to do with short/long acting types?  Is it better to taper off a long acting because there is a smaller chance of between-dose withdrawal?  I'm a nurse looking to help benzo victims (after being one myself.)

[dc...]
Many people who are taking short-acting benzos (e.g. ativan) will switch to a longer-acting benzo (e.g. valium) to help minimize the therapeutic variability of the drug in your bloodstream (during the course of the day).  That's pretty much the only reason for switching that I can think of.  You can also dose multiple times per day with a short-acting benzo if you don't want to switch to a longer-acting one.

First of all, thanks for posting as a nurse. A lot of people would love to hear from the perspective of someone in the medical field. We understand you can't diagnose or give specific medical advice (or we should know that :) ) I don't actually know how it works for nurses or doctors on here. We've got other health care professionals as members, so you're in good company. That's probably something you should ask the admin about just to be safe. They have rules for things I never would have even thought of, and they are all there to protect you.

I read that you were having a hard time from quitting after two months, and you mentioned feeling like you shouldn't complain because other people have it "worse" or took it longer. I don't think you should ever feel like your experience is less than someone else's because you took it for a "short time." Two months is plenty of time to become dependent on these drugs, and quitting make your symptoms more challenging at first if you did so cold turkey. I'm on year nine and I don't think about people who took for less time than me that way. We're all in this together. Some (rare) people can take them for decades and just quit. All of benzoworld is mysterious.