How do you decide whether to go out and do things?

[88...]

Almost at a year here and in many ways I’m much worse than I was months ago.  It’s devastating.

My question is this - it feels like daily I wrestle with whether I should stay in to let myself recuperate more, or if I should go out and live my life at the risk of setting myself back.

(I am particularly obsessive about “will activity set me back” since a major major August setback in which I overexerted myself physically and could barely leave the apartment for a month.)

In real life I am a very active person; I live in NYC and love the hustle and bustle.  I’m a freelancer (though I’ve barely been working lately) and thrive on making my own schedule, seeing friends, seeing concerts and shows, etc.  It has gutted me to spend so much time locked in my apartment, which usually feels like more like a jail.

So my question is how do YOU make these decisions?  I never know whether a simple appointment or two is why I feel awful the next day or if I would have felt awful anyway. None of this makes any sense.

I’m starting to think fuck it, I want to push my current boundary more and see what happens.  Maybe the happiness I’d feel from living my life - even if feeling awful while doing it - is as good for me as laying and watching Netflix, which makes me utterly miserable.  (I’m not talking about intense exercise or even an 8-hour workday.  Just coffee with a friend, physical therapy, a show, maybe 1-2 of these a day.)

I guess I’ve made my point.  I’m very curious how you negotiate this constant question in your own lives, and I’m wishing you intense healing.