Lexapro - take it or not?

[Tr...]

Hi This week I started taking Lexapro,  first week just 1 mg.  I an attempt to stop my morning anxiety. Should I continue or stop? Anyone took this too while on benzos or during tapering?  Did it work for you and was it hard getting off again? Any response is welcome. Thanks.

1mg is an extremely low dose. The maximum here in Australia is 45mg. I would be very careful about taking anti-depressants. I learnt only recently that although these drugs are not addictive, they can cause dependency. In my case I have been going through withdrawal which psychiatrists like to call "discontinuation" which can be awful. I have been aching throughout my body now for over four months. 

Hi, Thanks for your response.  I just watched This is life about benzos an hour ago. I decided to stop taking Lexapro. Period. I need all my energy to make it through my Diazepam taper.  I came of 10 mg  Amitriptyline last winter. It was very hard to do. So thanks for helping me make up my mind about Lexapro. All the best to you!

Trochsetter,

Just to be clear no one is trying to convince you to cold turkey your antidepressant. Most of us here support slow successful tapers. I admit I know nothing about your specific antidepressant and I am not judging you or telling you what to do. You know your own pain threshold and what you can handle better than any of us do. It’s just that one concern that many of us had about the Lisa Ling episode is just this. That people would CT their meds or be forced to CT their meds. Anyway, one piece of firm advice I will give is to please make sure your CNS has completely settled down from your AD withdrawal before you start tapering your benzo. I must tell you that the Ashton manual recommends that you do the opposite of what you are doing. Taper the benzo before the AD. Your body, your mind, your choice. I am just providing the info.