REHAB CENTER FORCED COLD-TURKEY W/D FROM 6MG XANAX - SHOULD RE-INSTATE??

[me...]

Hi!

My sister was taking 2-6mg of Xanax per day for years. She went to rehab this month to detox but they took her off Xanax cold turkey and gave her Librium (long-acting benzo) and Keppra (anti-convulsant). The switched her immediately from Xanax to Librium. Then took her off Librium cold-turkey after only 1 WEEK! Then they kicked her out because insurance stopped paying.

She is at 12 days cold-turkey and in absolute misery and hell. Should she re-instate? If so, with what drug and what dosage??We cannot find a benzo-wise doctor anywhere in Kansas or Missouri. I am so scared for my sister, please help.

Thank you!

Yes, absolutely reinstate ASAP.  As far as what drug and dosage to go back on, what does she have on hand?  I'd make a guess at 2 mg Xanax but I'm not a Rx expert.  I hope one will come along right away.

Give her my sincere empathy for what she's had to endure please.

Hello melissa,

I'm so sorry this has happened to your sister. Having gone through a cold turkey from much lower doses (for a medical procedure), I know just how brutal it can be.

If it were me I would reinstate.  The goal is to find the lowest possible dose that alleviates some of the symptoms.  Once stable, a slow taper would be advised. 

Can you obtain enough medication for your sister to taper slowly?

Let us know so we can help.

pianogirl  :smitten: