“Inflammation”

[...]

Apparently inflammation is bad, according to everyone with an internet connection. But what is it? I’m not a scientist. Sometimes faddy buzzwords get thrown around so much I’m not sure what to believe. Anyway, enough cynicism. I’ve noticed, and I’ve seen others say, that ibuprofen helps them. I notice this particularly when I take it before bed. It seems to settle me a little and I often sleep better. Ibuprofen reduces inflammation. Is this inflammation reduction the reason I feel better??  Ibuprofen can also cause stomach issues if taken too much. Question: Has anyone tried reducing inflammation with natural supplements like turmeric or curcumin? Did it work?? Any opinions on ibuprofen? Thanks!

• 1 month later...
Hi DBM,  I've been taking turmeric everyday for the last two months and I don't know if it's just a coincidence but I really feel like it it's been helping me, at least I've had a little bit of an improvement in my mental symptoms lately. Before i started taking it I did some research on turmeric and its anti-inflammatory qualities and it really sounded like a miracle supplement to me, so now i really swear by it:) then of course it could just be a placebo effect but as for ibuprofen Id be careful with it, at least make sure you ask your doctor about the SE, I know it affects your kidneys negatively. The one thing about turmeric also is you want to be careful and ease yourself into it because it might cause some GI upset initially, especially if taken on an empty stomach.

A side note re:inflammation-

I found out I had a gluten problem in 2012 while still on Klonopin.  The gluten reaction caused inflammation in me.. sore joints, bleeding gums, skin rashes, and brain fog.  When I cut it from my diet all that went away.