How many attempts before you were successful?

[El...]

I hope this is okay to post here.  I posted in another thread but didn't get many responses as I don't think many of people who are successful are reading it.

I am just curious how many times it took you before you were successful at weaning off your benzo?

If it took more than once, is their anything that you did in your final successful attempt that made a difference in allowing you to be successful?

I have just failed my second attempt and am looking for positive encouragement, stories, words of advice etc. from those on the other side.

Thanks.  :)

Ellyn,

Im not a professional medical person but if I had to do it again I would use a micro taper......I did a cut and hold and was pretty symptomatic.  In all the stories I have read the majority seemed to prefer the micro taper method....Hope this helps a little,

Alan

I hope this is okay to post here.  I posted in another thread but didn't get many responses as I don't think many of people who are successful are reading it.

I am just curious how many times it took you before you were successful at weaning off your benzo?

If it took more than once, is their anything that you did in your final successful attempt that made a difference in allowing you to be successful?

I have just failed my second attempt and am looking for positive encouragement, stories, words of advice etc. from those on the other side.

Thanks.  :)

Thank you Guzzirider.  :)

• 2 weeks later...

I am surprised more people do not share their experience on this topic.

I was a long-time drug user and am now a recovered alcoholic and addict. It took me 5 years and 15+ attempts to finally sober up. I had to hit a bottom that was sooo low that I would do whatever it took to stay sober and change my life.