Quitting zopiclone

[Ga...]

Hello buddies,

I have been using zopiclone now for 3 months. I first got it because I was burned out from work and had panic attacks from which I could not sleep. The panic attacks have faded away but there is some anxiety still around. Now I am just realizing that this drug is bad and I want to get rid of it.

I tried cold turkey a couple of weeks ago but ended up being awake for one night (no other sideeffect). Now as I am thinking about quitting I would like to know what I am up against? I realize that my problem might be considered small compared to others but does anyone have a clue? How many nights does it take to befor I start sleeping? I am currently taking one pill (5 mg) every night. It seemes the sleep is getting worse (shorter) all the time so I have to take propavane as well now. The doctor say that my sleep will come back as I will start feeling better and to continue with the meditation for some time (about 1 month) and that we will have no problem quitting thereafter. But I wonder.....i think that I am a lot better and still I am sleeping worse.

There is also a risk that I will start getting worse again (panic attack etc) when quitting due to insomnia but I also feel that I don't want to wait to long.

• 2 weeks later...
I took Ambien after going as much as 5 days with zero sleep twice and 3 days with no sleep more times than I can count. No one can say when sleep will return. I know people 6 months off benzos sleeping 2hrs anight . I was taking up to 20mgs of Ambien anight . Then decided enough is enough. Now I’m one of those sleeping 2hrs anight.