I feel like an alien ! Why ?

[Pu...]

Hello

So I am now 2.5 months off Diazepam, I have various symptoms as we all do , some days are better than others. To try and add some routines to my long lonely day I have enrolled onto a basic computer course , I am 54 and self taught so I thought I’d learn from scratch , it’s only two days per week and only two hour sessions. I went today and I just feel so weird , it’s like I’m an alien I don’t fit in I feel separate from my surroundings like I don’t belong anywhere it just feels so strange I don’t know who I am anymore I can’t remember the old me, it’s hard to explain but I feel “ separate “ from what’s going on around me, I’m not making much sense am I !

Off the back off this I’m very proud of myself for going as it’s a big step in coping and challenging my anxiety but I wonder if it’s even worth it.

Where has my personality gone ? I’m just a body with a pulse  :'(

What you are feeling is called Depersonalization. It’s very common in recovery. I still have it but it’s way better than it used to be. I felt like my home town as well as my home was on a different planet, crazy shit those benzos put us through. I hope you find relief soon.

Hello Badben

I just googled it and it’s scared me, I want to feel myself this could take ages, do you just keep doing stuff even though you feel odd ? Will it go quicker if I do things outside my comfort zone more. I can’t stay in the house forever it’s hard to go anywhere new as it is but I keep forcing myself to, could this make it worse?

Pushing on