Withdrawing from Ativan

[Tr...]

Hello my name is True self.  I am a 65 year old nurse who became addicted to Ativan after my divorce from a man I was married to for 33 years. I also  became addicted to opiates (OxyContin,) and am currently on Suboxone.I have been taking 4-5 mg of Ativan for 4 years. I have previously taken xanax 3-4 mg daily for 6 months as well as zolpidem dIly for 2 years. As I remember it  was very difficult to get off the Xanax but not this hard. I went to a rehab program to  begin my taper and was put in Librium 10 -20 mg daily for 1 week.  Then only took 1 10 mg Librium per week for the next three weeks. I had severe bleoharospasm, shaking high blood pressure splitting headaches.sweating, cold and light intolerance. That is a partial list.I thought the worst was over and the phychiatrist gave me 29 Librium to take homE. This was a month ago.a month ago. I have been taking about 2.5 to 5 mg Librium every other day but have episodes of  shaking, depersonalization, headache and really severe tinnitis., no appetite.

Does anyone think this taper is too fast? The psychiatrist  is saying I should take less every week but I’m finding I can’t get the energy to walk my dog and go to AA meetings , which is my only responsibility now. AA has welcomed me, even though I am not an alcoholic but the root cause of addiction is the same., I think .I also attend NA meetings once per week. It’s hard for me to get to NA meetings because they are located far from me.

I know my story is not a happy one.. I have such feelings if shame about what I have become. I was a practicing nurse for 40 years  and was working 60 hrs a week for the last seven years and was able to stand the grind only with the use of drugs.  My addiction was not apparent to my employer and they are holding my job, though I won’t be able to return to that sort of work.I am now in disability due to my addiction. And also for Graves’ disease.( hyperthyroidism).