1 month free of clonazepam

[Bu...]

I have been waiting to make this post for several years!

I was started on clonazepam at age 24 during a mental health crisis. I have a history of PTSD, depression, and anxiety. I took 1.0 mg for approximately 5 years and then 1.5 mg for 9 months. When I went to nursing school, I realized I wanted to come off it forever. Before I went to nursing school, I was a researcher in the field of cognitive neuroscience. I knew about the multiple recovery timelines. There’s the amount of time it takes to get the drug out of your system, and the amount of time for your GABA receptors to become upregulated after being downregulated for so long. This requires your body to make more GABA receptors. I knew that I wanted a very long taper so I could recover at about the pace my nervous system recovered. I tapered using a compounding pharmacy over the course of 2.5 years. I started off reducing by 0.1 mg and then I had severe symptoms around 1.0 mg including suicidal thoughts, hallucinations, insomnia, sweats, diarrhea, and tremor. So then I started experimenting with doses. I eventually settled on reducing by 0.02 mg every 10 days. Going faster than that, i had more intense physical symptoms.

I made peace with accepting that this is the least bad outcome in a bad situation and accepting this was the least likely to give me post acute withdrawal syndrome. I learned to accept to live in a moderately uncomfortable state for 2.5 years. It sucked but I did it. I was tempted to cold

Turkey it, but I knew that could cause sensitization/kindling and ultimately make me feel worse, so I didn’t.

The things that helped me:

1. Hydroxyzine before bed

2. Clonidine before bed

3. Vigorous cardiovascular exercise including hot yoga, running, and Pilates every other day up to five times per week

4. Eating a diet rich in complex carbs (low carb made my withdrawal 10x/worse), fruits, and vegetables

5. Complete avoidance of alcohol and caffeine