Ambien after benzo withdrawal?

[ke...]

Hi, everyone. Has anyone used zolpidem/Ambien after benzo withdrawal? I know it binds to the GABA-A receptor and is generally not prescribed in the case of prior benzo dependency, but I'm wondering just how serious it is for use for insomnia.

I've always had insomnia, which was managed last year with trazodone, but the buildup of the trazodone metabolite mCPP was (I believe) the culprit in causing me to develop panic disorder again. I thought perhaps it was from using benzodiazepines, but now I'm not so sure. I was physically dependent on benzos (clonazepam) back in 2013 but came off them through a slow taper, and have not taken any benzos in several months now. After detoxing back in 2013, I only really took benzos for events like surgery or public speaking (I'm a medical student, so both are common) and would say my maximum monthly dose was around 6 mg of clonazepam, usually in 0.5 mg or 1.0 mg dosages split over the course of the month for anxiety-inducing events. I would often go very long periods without any benzo use, e.g. six months or longer. This last January I had a string of such anxiety-provoking events back to back and began using clonazepam, though I don't think I took enough to actually cause dependency and am now strongly suspecting that the mCPP from high-dose chronic-use trazodone (300 mg/night for around six months) was the culprit in inducing anxiety. Nevertheless, I'm worried that using zolpidem/Ambien could result in benzo withdrawal symptoms and we all know how much I want to avoid that.

Any experience in this area? Please limit responses to personal experience, not general guidelines/commentary because I already know all of that and am more looking for what people have directly experienced as opposed to the standard Dos and Don'ts that we all know and love. Thanks!