Ativan taper after 15+ years of use

[27...]

[27...]

I have been using ativan for 15+ years. At 1 mg twice a day, usually morning and afternoon, not before bed. I started to taper down about 3 weeks ago. I am now taking .5 in the morning and .5 in the mid afternoon. I have joined this site for support from people who are going through benzo taper and withdrawal. I don't have anyone in my life who would understand, and so haven't had anyone to talk to about this.

Edit: Account modification

[88...]

Hello, Bracess1 — welcome to BenzoBuddies!

I'm glad that you decided to join the forum. Our members have gone through benzodiazepine use and withdrawal themselves, so you'll find plenty of information and support here.

Here are a few links that may be a good starting place for you:

General Taper Plans

Titration Taper Plans

Withdrawal Support

Please take a moment to Create a Signature — you can enter your pertinent drug and taper history in the box at the bottom. This will allow members to see where you are in the process, so that they can better support you.

Looking forward to seeing you on the forum!

Leslie  :smitten:

The Ashton Manual provides information that can be useful during any stage of withdrawal and recovery, and includes a list of common symptoms with helpful explanations.

For those who are currently tapering, a starting guideline is that the dosage not be reduced faster than by 5-10% every 10-14 days, although some taper even more slowly than that. One exception: very short-term users of a few weeks or less may be able to taper somewhat faster.

Edit: Account modification

As you get on less and less, if you don’t trust your hoppy knife cuts then there is infonon the site regarding making a  liquid taper..

Really impressed you can cope with just twice a day.

You must be a tough bunny

Dick