Withdrawal and Cognitive Impairment

[Fr...]

It’s been nine months since my rapid taper of just five weeks. I have made significant improvements over that time but I can’t help but feel that my remaining symptoms are permanent. The most concerning symptom that I still have is a really nasty case of cognitive impairment. Now I understand that anxiety and depression can leave the brain fogging, but this feels different. It feels as though my mind is completely blank. I struggle with even the most basic forms of problem solving. Even more concerning is my struggle to form intelligent sentences. My speech often comes out slurred, choppy and confused. Simply put it feels like I have dementia at 26 years old. Now maybe this is just my brain jumping to conclusions, but could this be brain damage on a cellular level? I’m not an expert on the topic but could this be a case of excitotoxity? I’m concerned my brain cells have been damaged/destroyed and it really has me worked up most days. I would appreciate it if anyone could shed some light on this.