titration for .375 mg klonopin please

[Ho...]

Hi,

I think I am ready to start titration. I take .25mg klonopin am and .125 mg pm. I would like to use the simple method(spoon  and measuring cup). I would like to start on monday Aug.2nd. I have .5mg klonopin pills.I think a slow taper(maybe 1%) a day would be best for  me.

Thanks,

Holly

hi Holly,

i'm not an expert on titration although i did do it with my husband's help.  He used a 100ml cylinder and a syringe used for child medicine doses (can get for free at the pharmacy) to make reductions.

you should definitely have the mods/staff here check what i recommend.  I think the measuring cup could work; but i don't think a spoon will be accurate enough.  I would go with a children's medicine syringe and use it to take out a very small amount from the measuring cup.

i hope this helps.  I know others will be by to see you soon.

hang in there and welcome..we're here to support you.

love, truck

Hi,

I think I am ready to start titration. I take .25mg klonopin am and .125 mg pm. I would like to use the simple method(spoon  and measuring cup). I would like to start on monday Aug.2nd. I have .5mg klonopin pills.I think a slow taper(maybe 1%) a day would be best for  me.

Thanks,

Holly

Ok here it is, Holly.

Crush and mix your 0.5mg pill with 8oz of liquid. Blend it thoroughly and immediately remove 2oz. You can do this with a quarter cup measuring cup, 4 tablespoons, or a 60mls(with a syringe that has ml markings). Your choice. They all equal 2oz.

What remains is equivalent to your daily dose, 0.375mg/6oz. Drink 4oz (0.25mg) in the morning, and drink the rest (2oz, 0.125mg) in the evening. This is your current dosing schedule. Now,when you are ready to begin your taper, you will make up this same mixture and remove the same amount. So each day you will begin with this 0.375mg/6oz mixture.