Heart rate during panic attacks.

[ke...]

Hi, everyone. I'm a medical student currently suffering from panic disorder. Not surprisingly, there is very poor data regarding the average heart rate experienced by a patient during their panic attacks. For those of you who have measured your heart rate during such attacks, can you please share with me your info?

In my own case, my heart usually gets somewhere between 140-160 for moderate panic attacks, and for full-blown panic attacks it's more like 160-180. This seems higher than what I've heard from other patients and has given me some concern, so I'd appreciate more data to try and get an idea about what is normal so I can help my patients (and myself!) in the future. Thanks!

***Just to clarify, this request is for both my own reassurance and so that I can reassure patients in the future.***

I developed panic attacks in 2005 when I was twenty-three. They resolved with treatment (paroxetine 37.5 mg, clonazepam 1 mg). Came off paroxetine in 2008, remained on clonazepam until 2013 (see signature below). Panic attacks re-emerged during this recent clonazepam use/discontinuation. I've never experienced panic attacks while taking clonazepam because it really really works wonders for me, but I can't stay on it and be functional in medical school, and I don't have an active prescription, just leftovers from the previous prescription.

Thank you!

I found some posts regarding heart rate: http://www.benzobuddies.org/forum/index.php?action=search2

I haven't read them, so I don't know if they'll help you. People have all kinds of of benzo symptoms with heart rate rising and being quite scary, then falling, frightening heart palpitations, too. Similarly are the problems with bp. Basically anything that is affected by the nerves (which is everything in the body) can be a target of benzo symptoms.