want to stop diazepam as quickly as is safe.It's been makingme so ill for months

[ch...]

I am currently on 2.5mgs diazepam, and have never been well on it. I have been tapering for several months, though never on a high dose my taper was broken in hospital and put back on 4 mgs of diazepam, that being my original starting point.

I am feeling too old at almost 74 to keep taking diazepam as I feel it is too damaging to me and so I wondered if I could speed up my taper and still be safe.

I wish I could just stop, but think that might not be safe, so wondered how quickly I could reduce down and off. I really feel continuing to take diazepam is harming me so much, and in truth I just want to save my life.

I do not want to cause PAWs, but am hopint there is a safe amount I can go down by and get off this drug that is killing me as soon as possible.

Thank you for any guidance. My Psychiastrist is of no use, she says I can stop it in a week. I am not sure about that after 10 months of use, but maybe she is correct I don't know

Thank you in advance 

[40...]
Your Dr is wrong imo, you seem very sensitive to Valium as I was. Please be careful, I was tapered too rapidly off 2.5mg V and I had a stroke which the hospital attributed to the too rapid taper as I had no cardiac issues prior to taking the V for only 6 weeks. I am now 13 months off and still suffering badly which I am sure is due to the rapid taper. I wish I had done a micro taper but I was clueless, like the Dr. My Dr had told me that 2.5mg was a tiny dose, hardly even therapeutic but my neurologist told me that no dose of benzo is "small" as they act on the cns in a very powerful and detrimental way. There is no quick fix for this.

Please be careful, chinchuck. I went down from 3.75mg diazepam to 2.5mg diazepam in November of 2018, and I have still not recovered from it. It was too big of a reduction for me. I wish I'd gone a bit more slowly.