The Fight of My Life Made Me Stronger

[ro...]

Its been almost two years ago. Jan 1, 2017 that I took my last speck of Ativan.

I’ve wanted to write a healed (success story) so often, yet put it off.

A few times I typed an entry but lost it because of low power or just who knows what...

I was a technical writer, engineer for Boeing. I later went back to school to be a nurse.

A family. Active, sociable, we owned a medical infusion company.  Faced with menopausal issues at age 51, unable to take hormones....I was prescribed Ativan. The racing heart, hot flashes, restless sleep....all taken care of...... the beginning of the end.

Years and dosing increases to maintain the chill. The calm.

Then the fears came of running out of my pills. Losing them. Planning outings and events around my doses. 

I reached tolerance. Even as a nurse, I had little experience with benzo dependence. My anxiety increased despite taking my Ativan. Interdose syomtons. A paradoxical effect. Researching on the internet on how to stop Ativan, I discovered Benzobuddies.

My blog, my diary, is my journey over 3 plus years of trial and error. Fear to freedom.

When I jumped, I was feeling pretty good. Not sleeping well, but lots of other bothersome  symptoms were disappearing.

My blog is thorough and intense, full of daily fear and sadness.

I read Ashton. Stumbling upon the Valium crossover thread, it seemed that this was the benzo bus to be on. Professor Ashton laid out the taper from Valium. Many buddies seemed to be reducing steadily and with success. After much help from the forum and special buddies, I made the switch.

Many months went by, but Valium was unkind to me. To be sure, I read about the effect on some people and even Ashton herself noting that Valium isn’t for everyone.

I switched back to Ativan feeling as if I failed, a set-back. More lost time. When youre in your sixties, time is more precious. My sadness, feeling sorry myself was changing into unsettling frustration.