Freezing anxiety

[Lo...]

Anyone dealing with this intense psychological and physiological freezing anxiety, where body seems to go into a lockdown/fetal position just because the stress feels so overwhelming?

I've had some success with calling a help line when this happens. And, whenever I am asked why I called, I say something along the lines "I feel frozen with panic, and talking to someone for several minutes somehow helps me unfreeze from this".

Has anyone else experienced this and employed any different strategies in dealing with this paralyzing/freezing panic?

Loreazapamfree,

I have not had the exact same but I have anxiety while tapering and a very low stress resilience and I work as a...guess what...counselor for people with disabilities, include behavioral health and anxiety. How ironic. Thank you benzos! Anyway, what I do when anxious is find a way to break the stress response- go to my car, look at photos of family, do diaphragmatic breathing, and pray. Prayer has been my lifeline. I'm sorry you are struggling. The reason I responded despite not having the same fetal position response as you is that while our respondes are different, the anxiety isn't- it's a limbic-based organic fear (as opposed to a worry-rumination anxiety) from withdrawal. I find when I tell myself this will pass, and I look at the good days on my excell sheet, that the fear has less power. Try and distract- it seems like talking to someone on the phone does just this. See if you can distract when you start to feel it come on too.  I hope this helps...

Sorry you are struggling...

Trust

Loreazapamfree,