Two months on benzos and trying to get off - switched to Valium

[Bu...]

You can see by my signature how I landed here.  I’m definitely stabilizing on 12.5 mg of Valium and looking for any advice on tapering. I’m two months into this process after only 2.5 weeks on benzos.  I want my taper to be successful and looking for guidance.  I’m very scared about th first cut and wondering what people think cutting weekly or every two weeks. I’m very new to all this.

You can see by my signature how I landed here.  I’m definitely stabilizing on 12.5 mg of Valium and looking for any advice on tapering. I’m two months into this process after only 2.5 weeks on benzos.  I want my taper to be successful and looking for guidance. I’m very scared about th first cut and wondering what people think cutting weekly or every two weeks. I’m very new to all this.

Cut&hold is difficult, no matter how long you hold.  Its the cut that causes WD sxs.  The hold is just the time you give yourself to recover from the damage caused by the cut.

A daily taper is much more tolerable.

How do I go about a daily taper?  Sorry. I’m very new to this. Thanks for responding.

You can do a daily taper either with a gram scale to measure out small quantities of your V,m or you can use liquid.  Liquid is easier.  If you have a cooprerative doc that will write you a scrip, there is an Rx liquid V (best way), or you can make your own liquid by dissolviing your tablet(s) in a tiny amount of vodka or propylene glycol, and then diluting it with water.

Since you have only been on benzos for a short time, you might start with 1 mg/14 day (8%/14 day)  taper.  If you do C&H, that would be a 1 mg cut, and hold for 2 weeks.  If you do a microtaper, that would be .07mg/day cut. 

Trust me, its much easier to cut .07mg per day than it is to do a one time 1mg cut.