Anxiety attacks and heart palpitations. Tired of going to ER

[St...]

I have been to the ER two times in one week due to terrible panic attacks and the overwhelming symptoms of withdrawal. The ER staff judge me and I feel like a crazed person when I go in there hyper and scared.  It’s hard to tell medical professionals I am in benzo withdrawal when I am a social worker and used to be a medical social worker working in the ER and ICU. I took Ativan for anxiety due to medical issues and it helped me at the time.

The heart palpitations scare me and honestly I have probably had 15-16 EKGs in the past few months.

.i know I am not dying but at the time it truly feels like it.

I would not wish this anxiety on anyone and I am so sorry for any of you that feel trapped or scared as I do. My quality of life is impacted. It’s a sunny beautiful day and I am in my room lying day waiting for my next .25 dose of Ativan from my taper.

Thank you for reading this. I feel less alone.

I agree!! I went from .5 to .25 for ten days then stopped. The anxiety was so overwhelming I went back up to .5 again.  I will do a slower taper this time!