4 Years Benzo Free to World Championship Dancer!

[ph...]

After a forced cold turkey 4.5 years ago from 15yrs Xanax (Alprazolam) prescription 6mg daily, I had seizures and was hospitalized 9 months.

Then with severe acute symptoms spent 2 years full-time in a mental health rehab centre.

With diet, exercise (mostly walking), Tai Chi, gentle rehab yoga, Music Therapy,  daily meditationand  guided relaxation, I graduated very slowly to comp volleyball, Tennis and Soccer.

The biggest factor in my achievements was taking up Tai Chi.

Benzos impair a person's ability to calm and relax themselves, as benzos do it by numbing the nervous system.

When benzos are stopped the body has somewhat lost the ability to calm itself naturally.

And depending on circumstances of prescription use, it can, as in my case, take quite a long time, even years, to repair the Benzo nervous system injury.

The key is to retrain yourself and your nervous system to relax at will, so as to put yourself in a good position to enjoy life while accepting that the body is healing and it takes however long it takes.

Patience and acceptance is key to healing from all injuries.

Tai Chi is moving relaxation meditation with smooth, gentle, flowing movements that relax the nervous system. It is a form of dance choreography therapy that greatly improves cognitive function, memory, balance, mobility, strength, spatial awareness and flexibility.

It also improves self confidence and social skills. And is enjoyable to do.

I often do it to my favourite songs or music.

Combining it with breath control it also gives even greater results.

Tai Chi also teaches patience. Something often taken away by benzos.

It can be done seated or lying down for less mobile people.

In my case, by combining Tai Chi with various Latin Dance styles (eg Salsa), I have achieved world class dance level in just over 2 years of Tai Chi practice and Dance training.