Work and withdrawals?

[St...]

Hi everyone I'm in the last stages of my Valium use. I have used illicit valium for roughly 7 years. At one point I was taking 10 - 15 blues a day. I managed to get myself down to 30 mg a day and the local drug and alcohol centre has agreed to help me taper.

I found it quite easy until I was dropped from 15mg to 10mg. Since then I've been dropped 2mg a week. I was dropped to 6mg last Wednesday and withdrawals kicked in. Barely any sleep anxiety, low mood and all the other stuff that comes with it.

I had to call in sick last Thursday as I could barely function at work. I work in IT and it's quite stressful and dragging my backside looks bad. I was hoping to go back today although I'm still not that well. I've been dropped another 2mg today and foresee more withdrawals. My biggest worry is I don't want to loose my Job, does anyone know on what terms I should ask for a sick note for? I've got an appointment with the Drs today. Should I be upfront with my employer? If so I fear of loosing my Job. Is there a good medical exception for me being off Work?

These worries aren't helping I have a great support network at home. Has anyone else had these issues? If so please share. :)

Thanks for taking your time to read this.

Stu

This was tricky for me as well--I thought at one point that I was going to have to take a leave, but wound up not taking one.  I would speak with a psychiatrist about this before approaching HR/your boss.  They will know whether you are required to disclose mental health issues to secure a leave.  I was very reluctant to disclose the reason why I was taking off; even if you recover, there is a stigma attached to mental health issues that will probably be tough to shake.  So, I took days off here and there, but no leave (I said it was due to high blood pressure, which was bothering me, but not the reason I needed time).