SLEEP APNEA

[dr...]

i want to start a new thread on sleep apnea because I've come across scattered posts when searching and can't find the recent post I saw a few days ago.  I have severe sleep apnea and am currently tapering diazepam(valium).  I was on clonazepam for sleep for 7 years before being properly diagnosed with sleep apnea.  God knows what damage benzos did to undiagnosed sleep apnea.  I've been using cpap/apap for 5 years but have never gotten used to it.  On the other hand I feel like I have to have it on to fall asleep now.  During this taper my apneas are all over the place as my machine records the number every night, anywhere from 3 to 20 but mostly just under the 10 range which is still not good.  I don't know if this is affecting my severe depression/anxiety.  Anyone else?? 

I also have problems, and my withdrawal will be much worse. I try to think of breathing, and for example breathe in square. It goes well with meditation and mindfulness, but otherwise I'll forget all the time.

When I wake up in the morning it's very crowded in my throat and over the chest. Feel that the body gets very excited when I stop breathing.

I would also need to get to a sleep lab but it's far away, and still hard to go out. Do you have any tips? Thanks in advance!

Drummerboy, I would have to go to a sleep lab, but as I wrote, it's completely unthinkable because I feel so bad.

I suspect I have sleep apnea because my family has woken me several times during sleep. They get worried because I stop breathing for too long. Also wakes up because I take a very deep breath, much like when you have been underwater. Then gets a feeling of stiffening. Although it may not be a sleep apnea, I breathe completely wrong, especially at night. It`s the same thing in the days.

I went a course in conscious breathing, and then I was told that I was most likely to be bothered by sleep apnea.

• 2 weeks later...