Can't wait to "meet" myself

[nm...]

Okay, this is a little cheesy, but it kind of keeps me going on the days I feel crappy and like nothing's going to change for the better as I recover.

It occurred to me recently that I haven't lived virtually any of my adult life either off of benzos or without feeling tolerance/protracted withdrawal effects. I took them from ages 20-27 (I'm almost 28 now). What started as something to minimize severe anxiety/depression caused by a birth control pill I had began taking quickly morphed into a zombie-like state, with bizarre health symptoms and discomforts. When they were first prescribed to me, I was a student at a top college, and looking back, I was a bright, creative, happier, slimmer, and much more engaged/animated than the shell of a person I am now. Yes, I struggled with anxiety and depression and the social and academic pressures of a college student, but I had a lot going for me before benzos, even if I didn't realize it at the time.

As upset and horrified as I am about how the past 8 years have unfolded, I have to admit that I'm pretty proud of the way I've white-knuckled my way through a lot of difficult situations while on and withdrawing from these pills: working stressful jobs & living in NYC, horrible anxiety/depression, nearly losing my last job due to performance (thanks, benzos) after relocating closer to home, scary withdrawal symptoms, etc. etc.

I guess the point I'm getting at, is that the person I once was before these pills affected my life so drastically had so much potential. And hopefully, assuming I can heal, she'll be back eventually (albeit with more wisdom, experience, and confidence) and I actually have happiness, success, creativity, and love in my future. I'm sure everything won't be perfect, but I know the likelihood is that it will be so much better than it is now.