how far along in your taper you were hit with insomnia?

[Al...]

Im currently tapering clonazepam 0.25 mg using liquid suspension after going into tolerance wd in august.

Developed insomnia in tolerance wd and seems like its getting worse the lower I go in my taper,I am currently down to 0.1825 (27% of my original dose 0.25mg).Was just wondering how far along in your taper you were hit with insomnia?

I am also on amitriptilyine 70mg daily for migraines,seems like I became tolerant to sedative properties of amitriptyline after being on it for years.Before going into tolerance wd in august I have been sleeping like a baby for 8 years on amitriptyline+ clonazepam and never had a bad nights sleep ! My doc also gave me Mirtazapine for insomnia to take it as needed for insomnia.Has anyone taken mirtazapine on when needed basis rather than every day?Can i get addicted to it if i take it few times a week?

[d1...]

When I tapered Valium I started getting noticeable insomnia at 50% of my original dose (i.e. after tapering from 10mg to 5mg). The insomnia got worse as I tapered lower. My observation was # hours of sleep was approximately equal to # of mg of Valium. I was averaging 2 hours of sleep per night by the time I got to 2mg. My solution was to slow down my taper, way way slow. The last 2mg I went 2, 1.9, 1.8, etc, cutting by just .1 mg per week all the way down to 0. This gave time for healing to happen. The insomnia gradually resolved itself - it started improving around 1mg and I was on the mend by the time I got to 0. Now (a long time later and recovered) I am back to a pleasant and restful and *natural* 8 or 9 hours per night. Which seemed like an impossible dream back when I was on benzos.